Please Feed Me



My Faith Has Been Restored In Bona Fides

courtesy of nerowolfe.org

courtesy of nerowolfe.org

I had one of those meals last night that really awakened my taste buds. It was at Bona Fides in the East Village. Have you been? It was always one of those places that I had thought was cute, but had always walked past because I was always on my way somewhere else. Finally, a friend of mine took me there about two years ago because it turns out that one of his friends owns it. I’ve been there for the food a total of four times since. The first time, like I said, I was with my friend and my pasta dish was good, but it was so long ago I can’t remember what it was. The second time I went was also with this friend and I ordered the filet mignon, medium-rare and it was around $20 and came with two sides, great price and great meal. The third time I got the fettucine with smoked salmon and peas. That night made me sad because that dish wasn’t very good, and even though they advertised the brut by the glass, they didn’t want to open up a new bottle to serve just a glass. Which was a very silly mistake on their part because if anyone knows me, I probably would have ordered a lot more than one glass. And anyway, retail, that bottle of brut is only around $10 at a liquor store, so I don’t know why he didn’t want to serve me a glass since he was charging $9 a glass for it. You can’t fool me, I know what cheap alcohol is! That third night I didn’t go with my friend, does his presence affect my food there? But last night, I did have my friend with me and my meal was superb! I got one of their specials, it was a pappardelle with sweet Italian sausage, onions, sundried tomatoes and garlic in a rich lemon sauce. You need to go get it right now! I hoovered that bowl. All the flavors were perfectly balanced and the lemon sauce was done very nicely and was like a gravy on the pasta. My friend gave me part of his shrimp parmesan after he saw me eyeing him. What can I say, the plump pieces of shrimp were calling my name. That was scrumptious as well. So I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say that my third visit there was a fluke. Hopefully the good food didn’t have anything to do with me dining with my friend there. Worth a visit!
60 2nd Ave # 1
New York, NY 10003-8620
(212) 777-2840
7.5 out of 10
-Juice

I had one of those meals last night that really awakened my taste buds. It was at Bona Fides in the East Village. Have you been? It was always one of those places that I had thought was cute, but had always walked past because I was always on my way somewhere else. Finally, a friend of mine took me there about two years ago because it turns out that one of his friends owns it. I’ve been there for the food a total of four times since. The first time, like I said, I was with my friend and my pasta dish was good, but it was so long ago I can’t remember what it was. The second time I went was also with this friend and I ordered the filet mignon, medium-rare and it was around $20 and came with two sides, great price and great meal. The third time I got the fettucine with smoked salmon and peas. That night made me sad because that dish wasn’t very good, and even though they advertised the brut by the glass, they didn’t want to open up a new bottle to serve just a glass. Which was a very silly mistake on their part because if anyone knows me, I probably would have ordered a lot more than one glass. And anyway, retail, that bottle of brut is only around $10 at a liquor store, so I don’t know why he didn’t want to serve me a glass since he was charging $9 a glass for it. You can’t fool me, I know what cheap alcohol is! That third night I didn’t go with my friend, does his presence affect my food there? But last night, I did have my friend with me and my meal was superb! I got one of their specials, it was a pappardelle with sweet Italian sausage, onions, sundried tomatoes and garlic in a rich lemon sauce. You need to go get it right now! I hoovered that bowl. All the flavors were perfectly balanced and the lemon sauce was done very nicely and was like a gravy on the pasta. My friend gave me part of his shrimp parmesan after he saw me eyeing him. What can I say, the plump pieces of shrimp were calling my name. That was scrumptious as well. So I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt and say that my third visit there was a fluke. Hopefully the good food didn’t have anything to do with me dining with my friend there. Worth a visit!

Bona Fides

60 2nd Ave # 1

New York, NY 10003-8620

(212) 777-2840

7 out of 10

UPDATE: SO IT REALLY TURNS OUT THAT THE SERVICE IS MUCH BETTER WHEN I GO WITH MY FRIEND WHO KNOWS THE OWNER. MUCH, MUCH MUCH BETTER. CHANGING MY 7 OUT OF 10 TO A 6 OUT OF 10.

-Juice

Leave a Reply

