Please Feed Me



Perfection = Cannoli.

I am a sucker for good cannoli.

What is there not to like about this Italian dessert? Tube shaped shell of fried pastry dough. Sweet creamy filling made of either ricotta or marscapone.  And if you are so inclined… a dash of pistachios and chocolate chips. Great thing to picture, no? Cannoli can come in different variations, so I thought it was fitting to discuss two places I found recently where it is, as the Italians say, “perfetto”.

The first is a place in the East Village that has been around since 1894 called Veniero’s Pasticcera & Caffe. Here, you can get the cannoli not just in its original form, but also in chocolate – 2 ways!  The  normal chocolate covered pastry shell with regular filling and  the regular pastry shell with chocolate filling. If you are going to go there, my recommendation here is the chocolate filling. It is just the right amount of chocolate to not get carried away with that dash of pistachio to offset it. It’s available in mini and in regular size – so indulge! You are paying for the pastry per pound anyway.

Now for the traditionalist cannoli lovers out there nothing beats Rocco’s Pastry Shop & Expresso Cafe in the West Village. Talk about wanting to buy every single thing you see in the glass case! I dare you to not order more than one thing. Too many delectable decisions!  The cannoli though is a must have, because here – it is made to order. Yes, you read that right. That shell for the cannoli is filled when you order. With chocolate chips, without, pistachios, whatever – it’s your choice. You can watch them fill that empty cannoli shell right in front of you at the counter, and then devour it in the next minute. Your cannoli is fresh with a capital F. The filling is creamy, sweet, and it’s light enough that you can’t stop at just one. So I say don’t. And if you are craving a chocolate filling here that the cannoli can’t fill in you, I recommend  the Lulu, a light pastry shell filled with chocolate custard. It is as amazing as the cannoli, I promise.

-Jules

Veniero’s Pasticcera & Caffe  – 7.5 out of 10 stars
342 East 11th Street & 1st Ave.
New York, NY 10003

Rocco’s Pastry Shop & Expresso Cafe – 9 out of 10 stars
243 Bleecker St.
New York, NY 10014


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * pleasefeedme says:

    I love pastries, but I must say that I think that Veniero’s has too much hype to it. My favorite I think is still Ferraro’s in Little Italy. I think I was just annoyed because the last time I was at Veniero’s they didn’t have Manhattan Specials (a delicious espresso soda made in Brooklyn), what decent Italian NYC cafe lets themselves run out of Manhattan Specials? Sorry, I think I was just annoyed and am venting, lol.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

