Please Feed Me



Have You Had a Good Burger Lately?

Bistro 61Bistro 61 was a great find and I’m always thinking about their Rossini burger. I had dinner their with friends one night and I started it off with a Belvedere martini, no garnish. I watched as the blonde bartender put all she had into shaking that damn thing. It was well worth the effort. Crisp, clean and it had an icy layer on the top. The perfect martini. We started off with Les Moules a la Moutarde, which is mussels in Dijon sauce with a touch of cream. It wasn’t my choice, and they were just OK. I think one of their other flavors would have worked better, next time I’ll try the one in the white wine sauce or maybe the bouillabaisse one. What won me over was my medium-rare cooked Rossini burger. It was topped with truffled foie gras and onion confit and heavenly. So juicy and decadent, I was the envy of the table. It came with really good fries and a side salad. Word of caution though. I went back another night and I don’t know who did the cooking, but my medium-rare burger came out well-done. Huge, huge…massive actually…disappointment. But I am willing to put that incident behind me as long as I can get that original burger back. Something that I am not willing to forget though are their awful crepes. Tried them twice in one night because they were made wrong the first time and didn’t even want to swallow it on the first or second try. I thought crepes were easy to make for chefs? I guess not.

7 out of 10

1113 1st Ave
New York 10065 (At 61st St)

-Juice

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Libertador, OK, The Name Sucks, But The Steak Is Great « Please Feed Me pingbacked on 7 years, 6 months ago
  2. Chasing James Beard » Blog Archive » Libertador, OK, The Name Sucks, But The Steak Is Great pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

