Please Feed Me



Scarpetta: The Fancy Restaurant With The Most Amazing Spaghetti

courtesy scarpettanyc.com

I understand that it’s spaghetti. And I understand how nuts it sounds for someone to charge $24 for spaghetti. But if this is the only restaurant where I can get this dish the way that Scarpetta makes it, they can gladly have my $24 (providing its not the same week that I’m paying rent).

Scarpetta is a must try restaurant in New York City. The décor is beautiful. The main dining room has a skylight and the set up is quite comfortable, you’re not fighting for room. I love the high ceilings, the simple, but unique lighting fixtures and the sleek furniture. Though, all their mirrors are decorated with belts and it makes my nose crinkle in a bad way whenever I see that. Would look much better if they just ripped them off. Anyway, on to the food!

What I have tried and what I thought:

Spaghetti with tomato and basil: Homemade thick spaghetti in a slightly creamy tomato and basil sauce. The creaminess might come from cheese that melts into the sauce, not actual cream. The pasta is reminiscent of Asian noodles my grandmother makes from scratch and the flavorful sauce clings to it wonderfully. I overheard a waiter tell someone that it was the best thing on the menu. I haven’t had everything on their menu, but from what I have had, it is the best thing.

Raw yellowtail olio di zenzero & flaked sea salt: Light, balanced and tasty, a great way to start a meal.

Braised Short Ribs Of Beef  vegetable & farro risotto: Definitely a good dish, nothing to write home about, but well prepared and executed.

Duck And Foie Gras Ravioli  marsala reduction: You would think that this might be an overpowering dish, but its not. The filling is flavorful and balances nicely with the sauce, but I wish there was a bigger foie gras taste to it. I wonder, because when they present it to you, its on a plate so that each ravioli has its own space, if this dish could be taken to the next level if it were just duck ravioli, with a foie gras garnish on each one.

Roasted Sirloin  potatoes, chanterelles & braised oxtail sauce: Perfectly cooked meat, but the highlight of the dish was the potatoes. Think mashed potatoes wrapped in cheese and fried. Fried cheese. How can you go wrong with that?

Ash-Spiced Venison Loin  polenta-bacon dumpling, baby cabbage, & dried cherry reduction: Soooo, my date thought this was an OK dish, but it didn’t mesh with my taste buds well at all. Maybe it was the crust of spices they used, but when I took a bite, I wanted to spit it out.

Various wines and martinis: Great wines and icy martinis, thumbs up!

Service: The wait staff and bartenders are so friendly and available whenever you need anything.

In the end, the thing about Scarpetta is to stick with the pastas. Yes, except for the venison, their dishes are always tasty, but their pastas have always been the standout dishes. And if you are going on a weekend, definitely make a reservation. I was craving their spaghetti the other night and the only time they could fit me in was 530pm. I took it.

8 out of 10

-Juice

Scarpetta
355 W 14th St, New York 10014
(212) 691-0555

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Not Memorable, But Still Cute: Felice Wine Bar « Please Feed Me pingbacked on 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. Not Memorable, But Still Cute: Felice Wine Bar | Chasing James Beard pingbacked on 6 years, 4 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

