Please Feed Me



Really, Really Cheap Sushi That Tasted Good And Didn’t Make Me Sick!

courtesy of sushiloungenyc.com

I am an idiot. Like a seriously major idiot. For over ten years, I’ve walked past the Sushi Lounge over and over again and never once have I ever walked in. As a matter of fact, when they put up signs saying that their sushi was 50% off all the time, I think it kind of even scared me off. But alas, at my ripe old age I decided that it was time for me to walk in. That, and I was broke.

We started off with a round of sake-tinis. They weren’t great, but they weren’t bad. I’m also not use to sugary sweet alcoholic drinks (those who know me know that I can’t resist a Jameson on the rock or a dry vodka or gin martini), but how can I say no to a $6.50 martini? I couldn’t, duh. My friends were pleased with the sake-tini selection, there was everything from lychee and passion fruit to green apple and peach.

I ordered a sushi special of 6 sushi pieces (salmon, tuna and yellow tail) that came with a spicy tuna roll. It was love at first bite. My fish was buttery, tender and quite flavorful. It was really good. And what made it taste even better? My entire entrée came out to only $9.98 and I didn’t get sick from it even though it was so cheap. I was in raw fish heaven.  I’m thinking about when I can go back. Maybe tomorrow?  One of my girlfriends got a California roll and it came out to $2.13. $2.13!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s less than a one-way trip on the subway.  I know that I should try their other items like their ramen or their bento boxes, but I’m a sucker for a good deal.

Oh Sushi Lounge, you’re the one upside to this recession. Please don’t close down…or raise your prices back to normal.

132 St Marks Pl, New York NY10009

7 out of 10

-Juice

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Bacon Infused Old Fashioned Cocktails and Deep Fried Mayonnaise Hot Dogs… Intrigued? « Please Feed Me pingbacked on 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. Chasing James Beard » Blog Archive » Bacon Infused Old Fashioned Cocktails and Deep Fried Mayonnaise Hot Dogs… Intrigued? pingbacked on 6 years, 7 months ago

Comments

  1. * 2xsantos says:

    aaaah . . . i wanted to go to this restaurant today, but i ended up at another sushi/noodle joint on st. mark’s between bowery and second ave. will have to go back to the east village to try this. maybe next saturday? ha

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

